Hoosier Heritage Fall Pilgrimage 2021
West Fork Area of the Whitewater River and Dinner with Gov. Morton
Knightstown, Cambridge City, and Centerville, Indiana
Saturday, September 11, 2021

Join us for a Fall Pilgrimage to eastern Indiana that will include visits to the legendary Hoosier Gym in Knightstown and tours of Cambridge City and Centerville to introduce visitors to life on the historic National Road at the intersection with the Whitewater Canal. Capping off the day will be an 1860s era meal in the Centerville home owned by Governor and Senator Oliver P. Morton, thought by many to be the most consequential Governor of Indiana. At dinner, visitors will meet a historian and performer portraying the Senator who will offer comments on his life and times as Indiana’s Civil War Governor and Reconstruction Senator.

For more information, visit the "Events" page.

Field Trip grants available through the Society for grades 4 through 12

The Society of Indiana Pioneers annually awards 10 field trip grants of $500 to History and Indiana Studies classes in grades 4 through 12 that would otherwise lack the means to travel.

For more details, visit the "Field Trip Grants" page.

Pioneer Founders of Indiana Centennial Book Now Available

To honor the centennial of The Society of Indiana Pioneers and the bicentennial of the State of Indiana, the Society is offering this publication. The Pioneer Founders of Indiana book project is the culmination of five years of soliciting biographical sketches of pioneers from all 92 counties across Indiana. This is a Legacy Project endorsed by the Indiana Bicentennial Commission. Order your copy today. Proceeds go to The Society of Indiana Pioneers.

The book order form is available here.

Order your copy of Deep Forest: A Novel of the Indiana Frontier today

To honor the bicentennial of Indiana and centennial of The Society of Indiana Pioneers, the Society sponsored the publication of a “lost historical novel” by a former leader of the Society. Attorney and historian Emsley W. Johnson, Sr. was Society president from 1940 to 1946. This intriguing story draws on experiences of his ancestors and relates challenges and triumphs of settlers between 1811 and 1861.

To learn more, visit the "Store" page or download an order form here.

John H. Holliday Junior Award

The Society of Indiana Pioneers John H. Holliday Junior Award was established by The Society of Indiana Pioneers in 1970 to honor Mr. Holliday, the founding President. The award is given annually to a school club or class or similar organization. To be considered for the $1,000 cash award, groups must complete an application form describing a project, program or activity related to early Indiana history planned for the upcoming school year.

For more information, visit our "Junior Award" page.

Learn About the Society With Our Video!

Our thirteen-minute long video tells the story of the Society of Indiana Pioneers, including detailed information about our major goals and projects. You can watch the entire video here, and segments also appear on this site's pages where appropriate. All of the videos are available on our new "Video" page as well.

We hope you enjoy this video look at the Society's past, present and future!

tiny logo About the Society

In 1915, the Indiana General Assembly created the Indiana Historical Commission which led the planning, preparation and conduct of the celebration of Indiana's Centennial. Local Centennial committees were organized throughout Indiana. John Hampden Holliday, publisher of The Indianapolis News, was the chairman of the Indianapolis committee.

Sometime during the weeks of Centennial celebration, Mr. Holliday came upon the notion of organizing a society composed of people who were descendants of the early settlers of Indiana, the pioneers who opened the State to civilization, thereafter discussing, promoting and planning it with family, friends and acquaintances. On September 15, 1916, Mr. Holliday and a considerable number of people met to hear the report of a planning committee and its presentation of a proposed constitution that was adopted by those attending. In a subsequent order of business Mr. Holliday was elected the first President, a position he held until his death in 1921.

Today, there are four classes of membership available to those persons interested in the goals of the Society: Regular, Junior, Associate and Honorary. More information on becoming a member of The Society of Indiana Pioneers is available on the Join the Society page.

Details on the benefits of membership and services available to Society members is on the Benefits page.

A list of currently available books and other items are shown on the Publications page.

The Society cooperates with the Indiana Historical Society, the Indiana Junior Historical Society, and other historical organizations. Over the years the Society has engaged in various projects. Present membership is about 1,200.

From the Society's office at 140 North Senate Avenue in downtown Indianapolis, we strive to serve our membership and continue to celebrate the rich Indiana Pioneer heritage that we share.


Society Officers & Staff

Dr. Robert E. ClementsIndianapolis
Vice President/President-Elect
Dr. Ronald V. MorrisCenterville
Robert H. Everitt, Indianapolis
Bruce W. Oakley, Indianapolis
Marcia A. KriegIndianapolis
Yearbook Editor
Jeanie Pike Hornung, New Palestine
Immediate Past President
Julie H. NewhouseArlington
Michele Kerr, Carmel
Office Manager
Sally Fadely, Indianapolis

Board of Governors

Hometown and year of term expiration follows each name.
Ann Boggs BaderOxford, Ohio 2021
Janet L. BarbIndianapolis 2022
Martha G. BarnhartChurubusco 2021
Jinsie Scott BinghamGreencastle 2022
Roberta R. CaitoIndianapolis 2023
Joan R. EverittIndianapolis 2021
Thomas P. EwbankCarmel 2022
Dr. James P FadelyIndianapolis 2021
Hon. Thomas G. FisherIndianapolis 2022
Terri L. GorneyFort Wayne 2023
Judith N. GriffinDanville 2023
John K. Herder, Sr.Indianapolis 2022
MacKenzie Ulm LedleyWinamac 2021
Andrea D. NealIndianapolis 2023
Kathy ParkisonRensselaer 2023
Nelson PriceIndianapolis 2022
Robert D. RatiCarmel 2021
Charles E. ShortKokomo 2021
Margaret Weir SmithIndianapolis 2022
Eric N. WardCambridge, Mass. 2023
David R. YeleyColumbus 2023
This page last updated on Wednesday, April 21, 2021 .
© 2021 The Society of Indiana Pioneers.
Design & hosting by Kephart + Associates.